The Transmuted: Day 10’s Writing

August 10, 2011 at 9:53 pm 2 comments

“You… are you mad?” Lorenzo asked.

“No, good sir, I simply care that much for him,” answered Richard.

“I look forward to getting to know you better. You are willing to work, though, correct?”

“From what I can gather, I don’t have a choice. It’s part of the spell.”

“So it is. I’ve seen transmuted attempt to shirk. They cannot. The spell simply forces them to work against their will. Some of them despise the tasks they are set at so much that they feel they simply must scream, even though they have no mouths. Unfortunately, that means that the rest of us have to hear them screaming in our own minds. It’s not pleasant.”

“I see. In any case, yes, of course I’m willing to work. Even if I did have a choice, I would still do it willingly.”

“Very well. That’s quite enough time for chat. Efficiency and hard work are expected of us transmuted, especially in the matter of delivering letters. Come here, and I’ll teach you how it’s done.”

“Are you the director of this operation?” Enrico inquired.

“In a sense,” said Lorenzo. “I’m only six weeks away from the end of my term of sentence, so I’ve been around for a long time by transmuted standards. I often volunteer to show newcomers what their jobs are. Markus knows this and considers me trustworthy to perform that function. Among ourselves, though, we really don’t have anything like a system of superiors and inferiors. We know we’re all criminals sentenced to the same punishment.”

“Oh,” said Enrico.

Lorenzo showed them to one of the handcarts. “These letters are all going to destinations within the city,” he explained. “They have all been sealed by their senders, but as you can see-” he took out one of the letters to show them- “they have all been marked on the other side with the crest or symbol of their intended recipients.”

Entry filed under: The Transmuted.

The Transmuted: Day 9’s Writing The Transmuted: Day 11’s Writing

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nyc hottie  |  August 10, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    I like this chapter, very intriguing and interesting.

    Reply
    • 2. amybowen  |  October 16, 2011 at 12:49 pm

      Thank you very much!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

