The Transmuted: Day 9’s Writing

August 9, 2011 at 9:54 pm Leave a comment

“Isn’t it,” agreed Lorenzo. “But, from what people who knew me before have told me, when other people hear my voice in their mind, it sounds exactly like my voice did before.”

“Oh,” Enrico thought. “Well, that’s reassuring. Hey, Richard, are you hearing this?”

“No, I’m not. Can you send thoughts to more than one other person at once?”

“Yes, you can,” Lorenzo answered, “but only by consciously willing it. I’m doing it right now, as a demonstration. Hello, new Eighty-nine. I’m Lorenzo, what’s your real name?”

“Richard Pulsipher. Pleased to meet you.”

“Pleased to meet you, too. Aren’t you a native citizen?”

“Yes, actually I am. How can you tell? Do I still have an accent when you hear my voice in your mind?”

“No, you don’t. There are no accents in thought-speech among the transmuted. There are also no differences of language. I’m ‘hearing’ what you’re saying in Kelzian, and, if I’m not mistaken, you must be hearing what I’m saying in the language of $Kingdom.”

“That’s right! I am! Incredible! Have you been hearing my voice in Kelzian all this time, too, Enrico?”

“Yes, I have,” thought Enrico, “even though I know the language of $Kingdom very well.”

“What does my voice sound like?” thought Richard.

“It sounds completely natural.”

“This is how the spell ensures that all the transmuted can work together with no problems,” explained Lorenzo. “Many of us are from Kelzia, but not all of us are. And you, Mr. Pulsipher, how is it that you came to be transmuted? We’ve never had one of your people here before.”

“I know,” said Richard. “I believe I may be the very first of my people to be thus punished. Actually, I chose to bear half of Enrico’s punishment for him, to make it more bearable for him. I’m his friend.”

Entry filed under: The Transmuted.

The Transmuted: Day 8’s Writing The Transmuted: Day 10’s Writing

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

