Memorial Day

May 26, 2008 at 10:50 pm Leave a comment

Today, I took the ticket I’d received from Jane last night downtown and exchanged it for a black wristband, which let me into the Beatles tribute festival that’s been going on since last Thursday night. It was a fun way to spend part of an afternoon.

The final day of Abbey Road on the River was definitely more lightly attended than I’d seen it on Saturday, probably because it was the last day and because it was cloudy and rain kept sprinkling on the festivities on and off. It was still festive, though. The park area at the top of 5th Street, overlooking the river, was fenced off and filled with banners, three stages, and county-fair-style food booths. I had a hot dog and a soda for lunch while enjoying covers of ’60s songs, only a few of which were actually Beatles songs. According to the schedule, the last day was specifically dedicated to songs from the years 1967-69, not to any one band. I was a little disappointed, but I still had fun for the two and a half hours or so I was there.

I came home, rested for a few minutes, and then went out with Marion and the boys to go shopping and then go to the family barbecue. I didn’t shop for anything for myself (we went to Target), but I enjoyed the barbecue. Did you know that hamburgers can be good with English muffins as the buns? Neither did I, until this afternoon.

I’ve had a very productive night. I’ve written four segments for the Deadpan Podcast (and recorded one), written and sent out a mass update email, and finally gone back and written a blog entry for two Saturdays ago, May 17th. I’m planning to call it a night right after I add to my novel.

Entry filed under: Ministry. Tags: , , .

A Sunday full of good things A very busy Tuesday, or, Savvy Pirate’s Dinner 3.0!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

