Saturday night at the movies

May 24, 2008 at 11:18 pm Leave a comment

I slept late this morning, because I’d stayed up so late the previous night.  After a shower and breakfast, I decided to spend the day downtown again, seeing more of the sights.

Here in Louisville, every Memorial Day weekend, we have a big festival featuring Beatles tribute bands, called Abbey Road on the River.  I got close enough to hear the music, but I didn’t go in, because I didn’t want to spend $25 on a concert ticket.  I went to the Frazier International History Museum instead.  I personally didn’t find it all that interesting, because it’s essentially a big display of weapons.  I nonetheless managed to spend over two and a half hours there.  It’s a very well-designed museum that draws you deeper and deeper into its interior.  I once had a dream about an art museum where the visitor’s path through the displays was pre-determined by harnesses attached via ropes to a track in the ceiling.  Today’s experience caused me to reflect, “Who needs ropes when you can have displays and arrangements of walls that subtly but effectively suggest which way you’re supposed to go?”

When I came back home from that, Marion invited me to go to dinner and a movie with her, the boys, one of their friends, and some of our neighbors, a total of eight people.  We walked to the Mid-City Mall, where we ate a good dinner at an Asian buffet restaurant, and then saw the newest Indiana Jones movie.  It was all right.  All I wanted was a fun adventure, and that’s what I got.

Entry filed under: Ministry. Tags: .

Thursday blog post A Sunday full of good things

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

