An Evening with the Presiding Bishop

May 16, 2008 at 10:37 pm 3 comments

Yesterday – oops, I just realized I still haven’t written a full entry about yesterday.  I’ll try to remember to get back to that.  The point is, yesterday’s trip to the airport and evening with the young adult group refreshed my spirit and restored my enthusiasm for and pride in my work, which had waned over the past week.  Therefore, I set out to do better today, and I succeeded.  Last night, I made a list of about 15 things I needed to accomplish at work today, and I accomplished all but two of them.  (One of them was writing a full blog entry about yesterday.)  I added two families to the database, and completed the pickup schedule and directions for Monday, among other things.  I left my desk nice and neat, with only one piece of partially-completed work on it.

The Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church is visiting the Diocese of Kentucky this weekend.  Thanks to Amy Coultas, I got a ticket to the conversation she held tonight, in the comfortably large parish hall at my very own church, St. Matthews.  Amy Coultas’ parents were kind enough to drive me there and back, and I sat with most of our young adult group.

Hearing The Most Rev. Katharine Jefferts Schori speak was deeply encouraging and inspiring.  I am very glad to know that my Presiding Bishop and I share the same viewpoint on what’s important in living a Christian life, both as an individual and as a church: to reach out, to be God’s hands working in the world, is what’s important.  One of the most important points she made was that, in her experience, growth and vitality in the Church are found where the Church and its people are thus outwardly focused, rather than focused on internal issues and divisions.  She has a powerfully calming tone and presence, and conveys an openness and a desire to listen to and respond to the questions and needs of those around her.  For that reason, she kept her prepared remarks brief and spent the majority of the 90-minute session answering questions gathered from churches in the Diocese of Kentucky.  I was both surprised and encouraged to hear that there are no plans to spend time enacting legislation at this year’s Lambeth Conference.  Rather, the conference is designed to allow everyone to spend time together, get to know each other, communicate, and learn from one another.  I think that’s great, because I agree with what she said about legislation: too often, it is a source of division.

After tonight, I feel even more richly blessed to be part of the Episcopal Church, and even more certain that it is by God’s will that Katharine Jefferts Schori is its current leader.

Entry filed under: Ministry. Tags: .

Welcome to a New Home Another fun Saturday downtown, or, “Tell me about all the latest plays.”

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Scott  |  May 18, 2008 at 7:27 am

    Said above: I agree with what she said about legislation: too often, it is a source of division.

    If there is any unity which comes from a lack of legislation at Lambeth it is somewhere between weak and false. It must be admitted that there are extreme differences between the position of Dr Katharine Jefferts Schori and much of the rest of the communion. There are limits to diversity which an organization can tolerate and still meet the needs of it members. In the present matter it would appear that the limits of diversity are being pushed to the extreme. Lack of legislation at Lambeth is to deny the obvious that it is time to choose between traditional Anglican Christian understanding and the new religion as personified by Dr Katharine Jefferts Schori.

    Said above: the conference is designed to allow everyone to spend time together, get to know each other, communicate, and learn from one another.

    Is there really any reason to spend time to get to know each other? The meeting should be a college of Bishops It should be a time to bring leadership to the Anglican Church. The time for talking but not acting has some to an end.

    Is there any likelihood that the side personified by Dr Schori will change it position? Repeating and repeating a wrong position does not make it right. It was said that we need to listen to the positions of those who engage in homosexual acts. I have listened others have listened, there is nothing new to the message in the last ten years. The message from many is we want you to accept us and bless our behavior which the Church has called sin as holy.

    Reply
  • 2. Farouk  |  June 4, 2008 at 2:45 am

    Farouk says : I absolutely agree with this !

    Reply
  • 3. Guadalquivir  |  June 19, 2008 at 3:32 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Guadalquivir.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

