The agony of unexpected delays, and the thrill of overcoming them

May 13, 2008 at 9:47 pm Leave a comment

Today’s efforts to keep operations moving at KRM were an intense, suspenseful emotional roller coaster, at least for part of the day.  I’ll start with the low point of the day: I had to cancel that furniture delivery that I had worked so hard to pull together and fretted about so much.  Why?  The apartment was still being cleaned and having its carpet replaced today.  No one at the office knew this until today, but I still felt horrible that the new apartment couldn’t be set up.

The high point of the day centers around one of the phone calls that I handled yesterday.  The phone call was from Episcopal Migration Ministries, asking whether anyone at our office had contacted the distant relatives of a certain client who had been allocated to Louisville.  No one had, and I asked Dalay to do it because she knew said relatives, and I didn’t.  Today, she and Rodolfo finished making arrangements with one those relatives, who has agreed to assist the new client.  I got to call EMM and tell them about this development, signifying that the process was back on track.

I completed the usual donation-tracking chores (which took less time than usual because no new donations were picked up today), and spent an hour in the computer lab.  The confusion that I straightened out there today arose from the fact that the lowercase letter ‘l’ and the numeral ‘1’ look very similar in Times New Roman. Also, Amy Coultas, Carol Young, and I have a lunch date tomorrow.

I spent another unremarkable evening at home.  Still no word about this year’s Come to the Feast.  (I emailed the registrar on Sunday to ask for details.)

Entry filed under: Ministry. Tags: .

I’m getting the hang of this stuff. Another Wednesday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

