The Ropes

May 9, 2008 at 10:58 pm Leave a comment

Work today was very intense. I only had to make a few phone calls (and receive a few, as well), but I was kept busy all day working on pickup and delivery schedules for donated furniture. Thanks to a lot of help from Chris, everything is now as well-organized as it can be.

Holding down a specific position in an office all on my own has been a great growth experience for me so far. After spending the first month learning the ropes of Lee’s job, today I started to see how those ropes form a coherent order, a rope bridge on which to walk safely over a chaotic chasm. I found that I had to adjust the width of the bridge and the height of the handrail ropes to fit me. That meant hand-writing a list of the tasks that have to be done every day, to keep on my desk and look at. I believe I covered everything I was supposed to today.

On my way home, I stopped by the local post office (where I had mailed some cards out in the morning, before work) and put 40 Lunch and Learn invitations, two thank-you letters for donations, and three letters sent by coworkers in the mailbox. Getting the invitations I’d been working so hard on sent out was a great way to cap off the week. At home this evening, I had leftover spaghetti and a biscuit for dinner, and watched the movie Southland Tales, rented via digital cable. I watched it because it was the third movie chosen as the topic of group discussion by the Deadpan Podcast community. I have a few weeks to come up with some comments on the movie or other creative materials for the podcast.

Entry filed under: Ministry. Tags: , , .

My first day of independence in the office! Getting touristy with it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

