Not every day can be great.

May 7, 2008 at 11:06 pm Leave a comment

Today was not bad, but it wasn’t particularly good, either.  At work, I completed a few minor, routine tasks, and went over my upcoming work duties with Lee and Chris, the ROW office’s case worker.  I’m as prepared as I’m going to get for taking over Lee’s responsibilities for the next two weeks.  A few things have been handed off to others; I said I wasn’t comfortable sending emails to Church World Service or Episcopal Migration Ministries to say, “Yes, please go ahead and assign this case to us,” so Chris will be doing that.  I’ve been instructed to ask Carol and/or Chris for any help I need.  I look forward to taking on this challenge, actually. I think, and hope, I’ll do better at it than I did at my NSCS responsibilities, because I’ll be filling a clearly-defined role in a supportive, friendly, and (most importantly) highly cohesive organization.

In other news, so far I’ve called about 40-45 churches to ask if they want to be invited to the next Lunch and Learn.  I’m on line 51 of the 119-line spreadsheet that is my invitation list.  I will do my best to get through the rest of the lines, and get all those invitations printed and mailed, tomorrow.  (I’ll have to ask Liz how to obtain that many postage stamps.) On top of that, I’ve got computer lab duty, and an orientation I want to observe, and I have to be in the C-H office around noon, filling in for Rodolfo.  It’s going to be a very full day.

Speaking of observing things, today I observed one of our World of Work orientations. I was bored, because it was so similar to Cultural Orientation in format, so I mostly played on the computer that was in the room.

I spent the evening relaxing and attending choir practice, which was fun.

Entry filed under: Ministry. Tags: , .

Tuesday post My first day of independence in the office!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

