It’s just another manic Monday

May 5, 2008 at 10:07 pm Leave a comment

Mondays are the busiest days at KRM, because when questions or concerns come up in our clients’ lives over the weekend, they have to wait until we open on Monday to come in and see their case workers.  The reception area and the ROW and Cuban-Haitian offices are always crowded with people on Monday mornings.

I spent most of the morning in the ROW office, entering new refugee data into the database.  I had lunch, then spent the afternoon making photocopies, faxing the forms I filled out on Monday, and helping Rodolfo make case notes on everything that had gone on in the office that morning.  The difference between my data-entry duties in the C-H office and the ROW office is this: In the ROW office, I only get to make preliminary notes on refugees before they arrive, so I don’t learn very much about them.  (I also enter data about donations, but that’s a separate set of responsibilities.)  In the C-H office, I get to make notes on refugees who have arrived, so I know how different individuals are related, and I get to watch their lives unfold.  I can’t and won’t get into specifics about our clients, but it’s interesting work.

I also created another informational flyer today, this time for our citizenship classes.  Also, during the day, I read an e-mail from a professional contact and learned about a work opportunity with an LA-based organization called the Little Tokyo Service Center that interests me greatly.  It involves both my Japanese and computer skills.  Finally, at the very end of the day, I got the green light to start printing out invitations to the next Lunch and Learn event.  I’m going to start on that in the morning.

I spent the evening at home.  We had a really good dinner, and I completed the jigsaw puzzle that’s been out on the table since I got here.  I also finally posted my resume to MSearch, InterVarsity’s online job and mission opportunity resource.  There’s another item off the to-do list.

Entry filed under: Ministry. Tags: , .

Today was just way too much fun. Tuesday post

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

