Today was just way too much fun.

May 4, 2008 at 11:12 pm 2 comments

Yes, even better than yesterday.

First of all, a friend picked Marion up to take her to breakfast, so I got to use the car to go to church.  I managed to make two wrong turns while attempting to follow Mapquest’s directions there, so I got there halfway through the pre-service choir rehearsal, but it was all right.  I was feeling great all through the service, and afterward, I volunteered to participate in next week’s multilingual reading of the New Testament scripture for the week (it’s Pentecost Sunday next week!).  I have until then to look up the Japanese text of Acts 2.

I came home, had more leftover pizza for lunch, and spent the afternoon relaxing and writing.  I spent part of it at home and part of it out at a coffee shop.  In the evening, I went with Marion to her band’s gig at Brendan’s.  I had dinner there (mozzarella-and-tomato salad and a side of french-fried sweet potatoes, yum!), listened to the band, and continued writing.  Today I’ve successfully retooled the majority of the scenes in one of my subplots, which has had several effects.  It’s broken down the mental block I had against working on my novel (I didn’t want to continue moving forward when I was that dissatisfied with part of the story), it’s gotten me really interested in the novel as a whole again, and excited about writing it, and it’s taught me things about my characters.  I’m pleased to report that I know how I’m getting to my ending better than ever now, so there is a very distant light at the end of the tunnel.

Entry filed under: Ministry. Tags: , , .

A Saturday walk down memory lane It’s just another manic Monday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lexi  |  May 14, 2008 at 12:46 am

    I know you are a writer, but I’ve never heard of what? Either way, I admire your drive. Writing is a tough thing to do so regularly. (Believe me I’ve tried many a time…hopefully once life is more regimented I will allot time to do as such.)

    Reply
  • 2. amybowen  |  May 14, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Hey, thanks for reading and commenting! I’m an amateur writer of fantasy and sci-fi novels. The one I’m referring to in this post is a fantasy novel called Bridging the Spheres.

    It is indeed very tough to do this every day. Thanks for the encouragement!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

