A Running Marathon and a Writing Marathon

April 26, 2008 at 11:00 pm 2 comments

(Note: The first half of this post was written and assembled on Saturday, around noon, and the rest was written on Monday 4/28.  It was actually published that day, but is back-dated.)

This morning, Marion and I got up early (well, early for a weekend; we got up between 7 and 7:30, which is about the same time as we do on weekdays) and bicycled downtown to watch the Derby Festival Marathon and Mini-Marathon. I rode one of the boys’ bikes; if we hadn’t needed to get going and I’d looked for tools, I would have adjusted the seat higher. We stopped off at Starbucks on the way to get coffee and pastries for breakfast, and then continued downtown. We ended up standing and watching the race from the corner of 4th Street and Breckinridge, which was where the full marathon and mini-marathon race courses diverged. The mini-marathon runners turned left (our right, from where we were standing) and the marathon runners turned in the opposite direction, from 4th onto Breckinridge. We stood, watched and cheered for about 40 minutes or so, and I enjoyed the energetic atmosphere. We were waiting for Sam, Marion’s younger son who was running the mini-marathon, to come by, but he bailed out about a mile before where we were standing. (He called his mom to say so. Still, 11 miles is further than I could run.) I had a good time all the same, and I have pictures.

Some of the cheering crowd:

Marathon 05

Marathon 06

Marathon 07

After that, we bicycled back to the house.  Getting all that exercise in the morning made me feel energetic and eager to do something productive, so I uploaded the above pictures, along with several others, to Flickr, and went back and added a picture to Tuesday’s post.  Then, I started an expenditures spreadsheet for my stay in Kentucky.  It’s not going to be as complete as the one I had for Japan, but it’s better than nothing.  I also agonized over going to Balticon at the end of May, but decided it was too much hassle and expense for me.

In the afternoon, I bicycled up to the deli and met Angela for another Script Frenzy write-in.  We sat there from about 2:20 until almost 7:00, writing and watching the NFL draft on TV.  Angela and the boys are all excited about one of the University of Louisville’s players, Brian Brohm, being drafted by the Green Bay Packers. Now that Scott Sigler’s The Rookie has turned me on to football (to a small extent), I just might follow them this season, at least casually.

In terms of writing, I made really good progress.  I got to the end of page 43 and crossed the 10,000-word mark, which was a satisfying milestone even though I’m not going to win this year.  I left off partway through the briefing scene, which flowed really well. I had plenty of ideas, and I was excited about it because I knew it was leading up to a big revelation and a turning point. I haven’t gotten to that yet, though.

I spent the evening at home, goofing off.

Entry filed under: Ministry. Tags: , , , .

Full workday, relaxing evening Learning new things on a Sunday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Scott Sigler  |  April 28, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    Hey if THE ROOKIE helps you enjoy the upcoming football season, that’s fantastic. I hope you liked the book. INFECTED is my new one, in stores now (and in hardcover!). My wife is a huge Pack can … I, unfortunately, still bleed Honolulu Blue (Detroit Lions’ old colors).

    Reply
  • 2. amybowen  |  April 28, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Thank you so much for commenting! I loved THE ROOKIE, and I have a copy of INFECTED at home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

