Of Baked Goods, Household Goods, and Good Causes

April 18, 2008 at 11:40 pm 2 comments

The Midwest had a rare, strong earthquake in the predawn hours of this morning. I felt it, and my reaction was, “Huh. We have earthquakes here?” Here’s an article about it.

At work this morning, Lee and some of the other regular staff had a staff meeting, leaving me with nothing to do except read and sort through email for over an hour. When Lee got back, she set me to the task of moving a whole bunch of donated clothes from our basement to one of the rooms on our first floor, probably in anticipation of the clothes giveaway we’re planning on having for our clients sometime next week. That wore me out. I had lunch afterward, then walked across the street to the church to check out the bake sale. I bought a cupcake, and some jam-thumbprint cookies and a brownie to save for later. The cupcake and cookies were good.

I spent the afternoon doing more data entry. Today’s data-entry tasks included not only data about refugees, but also estimates of the dollar value of items that have been donated to KRM, including furniture, clothes, and other household goods. This is a very tedious task. There are a lot of estimates to make, and I’m basing them on very brief descriptions of the donations and value information from a booklet that is now 8 years old. I will be finishing up this task on Monday.

I heard back from the president of NSCS at the University of Louisville today. She told me that their school year is actually just ending right now, and that they were doing their last activity of the year tonight: a service project at their university’s Relay for Life. I biked to the bus stop and got on the bus (which had those bike racks, just like the ones in Santa Barbara), eager to see the event I have such fond memories of participating in two years ago.

Many of the buildings on campus are built out of red brick and are old, just like many of the houses and churches around here. They were doing Relay in an unusual way. The “track” for participants to walk on consisted of several designated sidewalks near the Student Activities Center. One of those sidewalks ran past a rectangular lawn, which was where all the tents, tables, food sales, and activities were going on. They didn’t actually get started until 15 minutes after the scheduled time, which gave me time to go into the Student Activities Center and get myself dinner at Wendy’s. I was there for the opening ceremony, and walked the opening lap, which turned out to be the best part of the evening. I never did find any other NSCS members. Whatever their service project was, they hadn’t started it yet when I was there.

It felt strange to be back on a college campus. I felt like a bit of an intruder. I thought I hadn’t brought closure to my time as a college student yet, but it looks like I actually have, on a psychological level that I hadn’t even realized. It’s remarkable that almost a month away from college and a single week in an office have already made me start to think of myself as part of a work environment, not part of a student body. Of course, the fact that it was a campus I’d never visited before and I knew no one probably contributed to me feeling like an outsider.

I did do two other good things while I was there. I bought a Luminaria (donating $5 to the American Cancer Society) in memory of Joe Murphy, and I said hello to some of the members of the local chapter of InterVarsity, who were participating in the Relay as a team. It’s too bad they aren’t having any more meetings while I’m here; I would have loved to attend one.

Man, I’m tired. Tomorrow is another Saturday, so I plan to spend much of it working on this script.

Entry filed under: Ministry. Tags: , , , .

Catch-up post, or, Yesterday and Today Dundee Revisited

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Louanna  |  November 10, 2008 at 7:15 am

    This is great info to know.

    Reply
    • 2. amybowen  |  January 8, 2009 at 8:24 pm

      Thank you! Which part was helpful to you?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

