Launch of “Infected”

April 2, 2008 at 6:14 am 1 comment

Today was the day many people involved in the world of podcasting had been anticipating for a long time. One of the pioneers of the concept of releasing novels via podcast, Scott Sigler, officially broke into traditional publishing not long ago. His first novel, Infected,was launched in bookstores everywhere today. Because I believe in the power of podcasting and wanted to help show the world that podcast listeners can, in fact, translate into sales figures, I went out to my local Borders this evening and bought a copy.

Infected on table

I’ve never really been into horror fiction before (except for Goosebumps books, which barely qualify), but I’ve been listening to the current podcast release of Infected, and I find myself enjoying it, in spite of my general aversion to violence. Honestly, I’m reading it to find out the details of the ending. (I’ve stupidly managed to be spoiled as to the gist of the ending. I started following Scott Sigler’s works after listening to The Rookie via Podiobooks (I liked it even better than Infected), and the interview episode at the end of The Rookie spoils the gist of the ending of Infected, so it’s my own fault.)

I’m crossposting this entry to my WordPress and LiveJournal blogs. I don’t know if anyone in my reading audience on either of those blogs reads horror novels, but if you do, I highly recommend that you read this novel.

Entry filed under: Podcast-Related Happenings. Tags: , .

A thought I had today Arrival in Kentucky, or, “Oh, wheeeeere is my hairbrush?”

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

