A thought I had today

March 24, 2008 at 1:25 am 1 comment

Today’s the last full day I will spend in the Santa Barbara area until I come back for graduation, or possibly for InterVarsity’s Senior Banquet.  Both of those are in June.  Today, my family and I went to my church in Isla Vista.  Then, we sorted out which of my things I needed for camp this week and which I didn’t, my dad took off for home, and my mom, sister, and I had lunch together downtown.  Per my request, they left me at the Borders there, where I spent the afternoon buying and reading books.

Then, I took the bus back up to Isla Vista to wait for the members of my carpool to get here. On the bus ride, I noticed the state of my mind.

During the first week of my freshman year, I remember feeling like I was a small child in an adult-sized animal mascot costume. The costume represented the role of “college student;” the point of the metaphor was that I felt like that role was too big for me to manage properly, and I wasn’t ready to fulfill it yet.

Today, I felt completely different.  Instead of feeling like a child in an oversized costume, I now feel like a butterfly only just coming out of its chrysalis.  I noticed today that I was remarkably ready to accept that the phase called college was behind me, that I was finished with it and off to live a completely different kind of life. 

Entry filed under: Random Thoughts. Tags: .

Welcome to my WordPress Blog! Launch of “Infected”

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. pam bowen  |  April 10, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Dear Amy,
    It isgreat to hear that you are settling in to your adventure mission in KY. You got another donation, this time from Leslie at church. I will somehow deposit it in your account. The neighborhood sounds historical and lovely, as does Carol’s house. Sorry about the cheap suitcase. You better go buy a new one at Target or Walmart before you come home. Throw that one away. That zipper will never withstand airline baggage handling. We are avidly watching our email and your new blog for the latest postings. Keep us informed! We love you.
    Love, Mom (and Dad, of course)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Swidget

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('0553866d-0ada-4936-b257-3054db8b0409');Get the Swidget 1.0 widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)

